Bash, Ruby, and Such Console Installation Version Management Bits for OS-X

I went to reinstall RVM (Ruby Version Manager) and got a message that the command wasn’t available. I realized, after fiddling around for a while that I didn’t have bash setup, and I had tried to run the standard quick install of:

bash < 

…I had not setup bash shell as my shell on this Mac?! Oops. So since I’m a virtual noob sometimes, and I have no idea how to setup bash, I did some searching and came up with this solution.

First, switch to bash.

chsh -s bash

Then create yourself a .bash_profile so that you’ll be able to initiate variables and such that you’ll need in the shell. These are used when working with Ruby, Rails, and a whole host of other things. To create a .bash_profile you can follow these commands.  (Snagged from this find)

cd ~/
touch .bash_profile
open -e .bash_profile

Then add this to the bash file.

# place in ~/.bash_profile as the very last line
[[ -s "$HOME/.rvm/scripts/rvm" ]] && . "$HOME/.rvm/scripts/rvm"

Now run the install (usually you’re told to setup this bash file afterwards, but figured we might as well get it done).

bash < 

Next exit (or whatever your restart of bash technique is) and open your bash terminal back up. Type this command to be sure we’re on the right path.

type rvm | head -n1

Now to install the latest Ruby on Rails bits you can issue a command like this.

rvm install 1.8.7

However, OS-X already comes with 1.8.7, so you’d probably want to install 1.9.2. I issued the 1.8.7 install since I knew, previously, I’d dorked up the install a few days ago. So it is also a good way to make sure your install is cleaned up. I’m sure though, it could possibly mess things up if you’ve tweaked things the wrong way – but it sure seems to be the case that Ruby, Rails + RVM just works. 🙂

rvm install 1.9.2

Once those are installed you’ll want to set one as default. I’m went with 1.9.2 for now. This can be changed later if need be.

rvm use 1.9.2 --default

Anyway, that’ll get you started on OS-X if you’ve run into the “I’m only running the Terminal in its default setup, I need some bash” situation. 🙂

Happy coding, hacking, and gem installing!

References:

Some references are included above as links, but these below didn’t fit exactly in context at any point, I however used them none the less.