Red Line to the Games

This entry is going to be a complete diversion from my regular content.  In a way though, it is directly related to software development and one of the most important aspects.  It is vitally important that during the course of development that one TAKES BREAKS and has some fun.  So with that…

Over the last few weeks at work a number of my coworkers have mentioned and discussed numerous games that they’re playing these days.  It really got me thinking, for a gamer, I’ve been totally slacking.  So I decided that I was going to do something about it.  When the departure time struck at work I was out the door and met Joleen for a trip to Best Buy.  It was game buying time!

We rode the Red Line MAX out to the Cascade Station Best Buy.  After arriving at Cascade Station we walked the few blocks to the Best Buy.  We checked out a few movies and series DVDs, but decided that it was going to be a 100% game purchase.  With that we assaulted the game shelves.  These, stated below, are the games we picked up.

Silent Hunter – Wolves of the Pacific

This game has awe inspiring graphics.  Years ago, I’m thinking circa 1989 or maybe even 1990, I used to play hours upon hours of Silent Service II from Microprose.  I remember the original Silent Hunter series coming out.  Since I had such a blast and learned so much history about the pacific theater of WW II this game was a must have.  Xander at work also created a wicked temptation by showing me all sorts of screen shots of the in games scenes.  Holy #$^%!  Amazing!

One note, to any prospective purchasers.  Make sure not to go installing the older Direct X or older Acrobat Reader software that comes with the game.  Especially if you are running Vista.

 

Black & White 2

Black & White 2 by Lionhead Studios is the sequal to a game I played ages ago.  The premise is that you play the part of a God.  You start out as an animal, that as your followers grow more and more faithful, you grow larger and more powerful.  The tribes people that follow you also have wars and battle, do all the general things that tribes would.  It was a lot of fun before, so I figured at a measly $9.99 I’d give version 2 a chance.

…and of course like a bastard, Black & White goes off and installs Direct X 9.0c like I tried not to with Silent Hunter above!  Argh!!??!?!

Sim City 4, Two Worlds, Trainz Railways, and Falcon 4.0 Allied Force.  For the next 3-4 months I’m gonna be more than consumed by gaming!  But no worries, I have an article on ASP.NET MVC in the pipe!

4 thoughts on “Red Line to the Games

  1. Anonymous says:

    I couldn’t agree more. We all need a break for gaming sometimes. But I disagree about the games. Want to take a break and have fun? Try Call of Duty 4 and Crysis.

  2. adron says:

    Alas, I have but a mere 2Ghz 4GB RAM 256MB Video Card Laptop to play games on.  I hear Crisis would laugh at my machine and tell me to go play monopoly.  😦

    Call of Duty 4 though, It’s on the purchase list, I just haven’t been back to get it.

Comments are closed.